Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Incorporated

Divine Nine

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority
Alpha Phi Sigma Chapter

Alpha Phi Sigma Chapter

P.O. BOX 760606
San Antonio, TX 78245

Get in touch with SA-NPHC!

Alpha Phi Sigma Chapter

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922 at Butler University in Indianapolis, Indiana by seven school teachers. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929.

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority’s aim is to enhance the quality of life within the community. Public service, leadership development and education of youth are the hallmark of the organization’s programs and activities. Sigma Gamma Rho addresses concerns that impact society educationally, civically, and economically.

History of the San Antonio Sigma Gamma Rho’s 

Originally named Alpha Epsilon Sigma (now the Alpha Phi Sigma), was organized on Saturday, October 6, 1945, due to the interest and indomitable courage of  Soror Willie Young Richardson.  Soror Young Richardson, a teacher in the San Antonio Independent School District devotedly gave  her remarkable powers to promote the sorority’s worth to all college graduates who would listen.

On the day of organization, the Regional Syntakes, Soror Mary Seales Carter of the Gamma Sigma Chapter in Houston, Texas came to officiate.  Traveling with her were two of her sorors; Sorors Hattie Green Edwards and Merle Davis, who came to assist the Syntakes with the organization.

Later, the chapter’s name changed from the original Alpha Epsilon Sigma to Alpha Phi Sigma.  27 teachers who were initiated into the chapter during that first meeting held by their first Basileus, Soror Ethel S. McDonald.

Quick Sorority Facts

Sorority Founded:
November 12, 1922 in Indianapolis, IN. Incorporated as a perpetual body in December, 1929.

Official Colors:
Royal Blue and Gold

Official Symbol:
Yellow Tea Rose

National Headquarters:  

1000 Southhill Dr. Ste 200

Cary. NC 27513-8630

National website:

Local Chapter

Alpha Phi Sigma Chapter:
P.O. BOX 760606
San Antonio, TX 78245

SA-NPHC Representatives

Monica Pete, Chapter Representative/SA-NPHC President

Sandra Thomas-Ojimadu, Chapter Representative/SA-NPHC Historian

Monique Williams, Chapter President

Danielle Johnson, Chapter Vice President
LaToya Sapp, Chapter Representative

Upcoming Events

No event found!