Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Incorporated

Local Chapter

Beta Kappa Omega

History of  Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc in South Texas  
On November 21, 1997, Dean of Pledges Eldridge Moore by way of Southern University, supervised the intake process of Nelson Watson III, Jon M. Singletary, Sr, and Keithon Kerley crossed the burning sands at Southwest Texas State University (now Texas State University) in San Marcos, TX.  In 1998, Elridge, Nelson, Keithon, and Jon reactivated the Prairie View A&M’s Lambda chapter of Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.  This started an exponential increase of the Iota undergraduates in Texas.  In 1999, Nelson and Jon resided in San Antonio after their collegiate careers.  They continue to be active in their community National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) Greek community for years as a colony of Graduate brothers.  In the early 2000s, Nelson and Jon pledged the 1st graduate brother, Greg Diggs in San Antonio, TX.  Nelson, while attending UTSA charted the Epsilon Phi undergraduate chapter.

In 2011, Brothers Nelson Watson III, Chris Riley, Terence Young, Bryan Maule, Keith Bragg, Brandon Odham chartered the Gamma Alpha Omega graduate chapter of Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.

In 2017, Brother Tobias Trejo was the 2nd graduate brother who participated in Graduate intake in the South Texas area.

In 2018, San Antonio, TX graduate members of Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. transitioned from Gamma Alpha Omega to Beta Kappa Omega.   In the same summer the newly Beta Kappa Omega Chapter, hosted the Texas Iota Picnic with special guest, Founder Lonnie Spruill, Jr.  He is one of the only living founders of the nine NPHC organizations.

In Feb 2019, the charter of Beta Kappa Omega was officially designated to San Antonio, TX according to the National office of Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.

Quick Fraternity Facts

Fraternity Founded:
September 19, 1963 at Morgan State University, Baltimore, MD.
Incorporated as a perpetual body in November, 1968.

Official Colors:
Charcoal Brown & Gilded Gold

Official Symbol:
The Centaur

National Headquarters:
3001 Hewitt Avenue, Suite 390
Silver Spring MD 20906

National Website:

SA-NPHC Representatives

Local Chapter: 

Beta Kappa Omega Chapter:
P.O. BOX 201022
San Antonio, TX 78245

Tobias Trejo, Chapter President
John Lem, Chapter Vice President
Michael Lane , Chapter Representative

Upcoming Events

No event found!